Skip to content

We Are Professionals

Program(s): Creative Writing - Fiction, Creative Non-Fiction, Poetry

David Adams Richards

David Adams Richards, CM, ONB (born 17 October 1950) is a Canadian novelist, essayist, screenwriter and poet.

Richards has received numerous awards including 2 Gemini Gemini Awards for scriptwriting for Small Gifts andFor Those Who Hunt The Wounded Down, the Alden Nowlan Award for Excellence in the Arts, and the Canadian Authors Association Award for his novel Evening Snow Will Bring Such Peace.

Richards is one of only three writers to have won in both the fiction and non-fiction categories of the Governor General's Award. He won the 1988 fiction award for Nights Below Station Street and the 1998 non-fiction award for Lines on the Water: A Fisherman's Life on the Miramichi.

He was also a co-winner of the 2000 Giller Prize for Mercy Among the Children. In 2009, he was made a Member of the Order of Canada "for his contributions to the Canadian literary scene as an essayist, screenwriter and writer of fiction and non-fiction". In 2011 he received the Matt Cohen Prize.

Author Profile on Random House website

Photo credit: Bruce Peters